Rat’s ass

Recently I posted an article on “fucks that I’m not gonna give about” on fb and was truly inspired by author.

Such a fresh new form of brutal slap in the face to all the new year resolutions blah blah.

Yes yes I’m a new year resolutions sorta person, but I’m also a realist (in line with my “thrower not hoarder” / money centered / “doer not sayer” characteristics). And I’m very much a I don’t give a fuck kinda person so let me gladly make my personal 2014 I DON’T GIVE A FUCK list:

20140113-183254.jpg

1) MORNINGS

This has got to be number one. I hate morning although I was born at 6.06am. Never a morning person. And not planning to be.
So fuck goes the “snoozing will make you even more tired” theory, the “be a morning glory”, the “more efficient if you wake up early”, the “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” yaddah yaddah.

Seriously just fuck it. I’m sleeping in, I’m snoozing.

2) GYM / EXERCISING

It’s just another year that I’m not gonna give a fuck about exercising & worst of all, gym.
Like c’mon.

Sorry but I know other alternatives to adrenaline rush and losing weight without having to put myself through smelly repetitive physical work that gives no joy.

I’m not lazy, I’m just smarter than most and I cheat.

3) SKINNY BODY

I think most would see this coming.
Of course being in a relationship did contributed to this decision, partly.
But it is also the fact that I’m so sick of hating my body!
For the past 15 years I’ve been hating my body & being so critical about it, never really giving it any credits.

And I think I’m old enough to know that it is not your figure or your looks that define you, it is what you are deep inside that matters.
You can be skinny & looking perfect but that’s not gonna do you any good if you don’t have a beautiful heart.

We all know that. But we can’t accept that because we would rather conform to the society than to love our body.

So I’m not gonna give a fuck to being skinny & all.
That’s not to say I’m gonna let myself go, I’m just gonna stop being so hard on my body. And I encourage all of my friends with beautiful fat heart to come along with me & give up this fuck.

Beyoncé is curvy & hot.

4) CARPE DIEM

Yup. I’m not into faith & religion even though I believe world is coming to an end, I’m not scared about dying so I’m definitely not seize the day.

I’ve just literally spent my day rotting on my bed. I’m not seizing. It’s overrated! Like c’mon! I’m tired.. I’m lazy.. I’m not gonna make myself hyper and try to do everything before I die.

I don’t wanna try everything once. Yes I’m not enthusiastic. I’m not that kinda person who is always brighter than sunshine.
I am selectively seizing the day. How about that?

I do what I want & i have no regrets about not getting out of my bed today.
None.

And we can’t possibly live like we’re gonna die anytime right?? If that’s that then how about we dump all our stuff and live like a nomad or cancer patient, travel the world, get into trouble, bankruptcy but it’s okay because I wanna seize the day. And because YOLO. That’s pretty dumb.

5) TRAVELING

Kinda related to previous point but yes I’m not gonna give a fuck about traveling. To me it’s about who you are with, not where you are with.
You can travel the world but if you’re all alone, with no one to share your happiness with, this is only as good as it gets.

I can be with my family at hawker eating zhi char and I bet my head that I’ll be happier than being in Italy eating spaghetti alone.
I can be with my boyfriend eating kway chap at Bedok interchange & again I’ll be way happier than being in japan watching Sakura blossom.

When I was in Shanghai, I did not enjoy a single moment of it. Because I was alone & even though it was beautiful there, I couldn’t appreciate it.

It takes experience to know all these. Or maybe it’s just me, that I’m reliant on human connections. But I don’t care, I don’t like that.

And quotes like “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page” HOW PRESUMPTUOUS AND OBNOXIOUS!

So there goes the fuck I’m gonna give for traveling.

6) SAVING FRIENDSHIPS

I have enough friends. I’ve had many friends, and eventually you realise how tired it gets trying to keep maintaining so many friendships and being the one out there trying to keep things going.

Friendship shouldn’t be this hard. I have a bunch of friends that I know has the lowest maintenance. I can send them a pic of a cat & make them lol for days. That’s how easy it should be. I can call them anytime 24/7 & they’ll be there. It should be that easy.

At 26 you should realise that you don’t need many friends, just that bunch of close knitted friends will be enough to last you the rest of your life.

So in 2014, I’m not gonna give a fuck about the number of friends I have. If you don’t hear from me, I guess you’re one of the friendship that is not worth my chasing after.
This has got to be the biggest fuck that I’m giving up because I like to be popular. I like to know that I have many many friends. I like to keep track of them like an insurance agent would like to keep track of their clients.

But this year, I don’t anymore. It takes too much effort & I don’t need it.

And also, maybe because so many of my close friends are getting married. And through them (and all the processes that they’re going through), I’ve come to realize that yes you don’t need to have so many friends, just those few that truly, sincerely, are happy for you from the bottom of their heart, is more than enough.

20140113-184941.jpg

Above mentioned cat picture.

7) GROWING UP

Having been placed in an environment & forcibly pushed into adulthood (I sound like those young Hollywood starlet LOL) has made me a rather hard to deal with person.

I’m very practical & very critical of others. I don’t tolerate fairy tales & dreams. It’s a part of the hidden jealous monster in me because others are allowed to have dreams but not me (I’m making myself sound like Cinderella now).

Because of how I am brought up, I do not seek for help & I’m so prideful sometimes even my own friends & family couldn’t tolerate me.

So maybe this year I’m not gonna give a fuck about being all mature & grown up & practical anymore.

Maybe it’s time for me to be a total dreamer & being taken care of instead.

I don’t always have to be mature & practical. And being so prideful has cost me quite a bit. Maybe I should not give a fuck about it this year, and see what I’ll become in one year’s time.

8) OTHERS’ PERCEPTION OF ME

Hah! I had to wait till 26 to realize that I shouldn’t give a tiny rat’s ass on how people think of me. How stupid.

What matter most is how you think of yourself. And I do think pretty well of myself. But I guess it’s only human nature to want to instill a certain impression of yourself in others.

Like I’ve always wanted to set the impression that I’m power pack & confident, a little wild but also feminine. But if I really have all these characters in me, it wouldn’t be hard for others to miss them. And if I’m not, then why should I be trying so hard to prove them that I am? Shouldn’t I be trying hard to work myself towards all these?

So really. It’s what you are that matters most.

So, here’s all the fucks that I’m not gonna give to you 2014! Cheers!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments


  1. f**k dat. Grab the world by the balls and squeeze hard – it’s fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram: @candeely

    There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

  • Twitter: @candeely

