DISCLAIMER

This is the second last day of my stay in USA, and I have, inevitably, reluctantly, came face to face with the huge bugging issue of, buying the damn souvenirs.

I mean, c’mon. This is technically a business trip. It is.
But yet I feel so so so obligated to buy souvenirs for everybody.
Like literally everybody.

The last time I travelled was Jan 2011. So it’s been a really long time, and within these 22 months, many many people have travelled & came back with all sorts of souvenirs for me.

I have co-workers buying me souvenirs from Bangkok, girlfriends buying me from like Korea & Bangkok & what not. Sister buying from Bangkok & Hong Kong. Other friends buying from god knows where.

I’m like….. Whyyy.
It’s not that I don’t appreciate their gesture, but i mean, this goes on & on. It’s like a vicious cycle.

So this time I’m in USA, which obviously require even better souvenirs.

I sort of classify the quality of the souvenirs according to the distance traveled.
I don’t know why.

So it’s like:

Bangkok / 3 hours journey / coin pouches / sanitary pads pouches / bracelets

Korea / (?) 7 hours journey / beauty products / make ups

And then I am like

USA / bloody 24 hours journey / crowns / VS Lingerie

I can’t be buying cheap items isn’t it?
God.

And I started to count the number of souvenirs I have to buy (in relations to the number of souvenirs I’ve received):

Bosses – 3 (it is a business trip & they paid for my tickets!)

Office girls – 3

Office guys – 4

Girlfriends – 4 + 2

Cousins – idk. 4

Family – mom & sis

Am I missing anybody out?
Thank god for no boyfriend-related-people like siblings or something.

It’s a total of 22 souvenirs to buy.
Plus a general food related souvenirs for the entire office.

There’s really no point in buying cheap useless “I ❤ NY” items like magnets or what not.
I’d rather not buy.

So I’m left with at least USD$5 & above items for friends & even higher amount for bosses.

How much am I gonna spend!
I can really buy a lot more stuff for myself!
I’m selfish like that.
And honestly how often do we actually use those souvenirs that we received.

Oh god.
And the more people know about your trip, the more people you need to buy souvenirs for.

So I’ve uploaded like so many damn pictures of my damn trip on FB/Instagram/twitter/blog that you have to be socially retarded to not know about my trip.

Damn.

So, DISCLAIMER:

Point of entry is to tell all my friends that I hate buying souvenirs, I’m really lousy at buying them, and I’m really really broke.
Please be prepared to receive useless items like lipgloss or magnets or mugs from me which, is not very uniquely USA.
But hey we’ve got VS in SG too, and really, we have everything in SG.
I can buy you stupid magnets of the Statue of Liberty which is really, the only thing that we don’t have in SG (though we got MERLION which is much cooler. It is isn’t it?)

And hey, I survived hurricane, snow storm, & floods!
The best thing is that I’m back home safely!
If you love me, that’s all you’ll be asking for, really :D

So, don’t complain.

xoxo

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Instagram: @candeely

    Welcoming the mommy back to the world of alcohol 🍷 Fun-filled weekend celebration for the birthday boy who got so drunk. Happy birthday my 30 year old husband! 🎈 ♡ Walking the dog and eating ice cream, that's my kind of multitasking. 🍷🍷 thank you for the awesome friendship♡ missing @intercostalspaces #三缺一 #teamshaded vs #teamsunburntobe Perfect weather for a frozen margarita #HOLIDAY #FINALLY #STILLINSGTHOUGH This is how we're spending our Sunday morning..... AS A TEAM! #MedtronicKOM2017 Blackjack under going intensive NS training. #leopardcrawl #sgboys Maybe he can audition for ABTM4🤔
  • Twitter: @candeely

